bad day

Did you ever read that book Alexander and the Terrible Horrible No Good Very Bad Day? That was a great book. Poor Alexander. Frankly, I think his attitude got in his way more than anything. But some days, no matter how sunny your outlook is when you get out of bed, stuff starts to pile up until you’re feeling really defeated. You’re left swimming in a pile of data entry and smelling like soy sauce.

I spilled soy sauce all over myself this afternoon. And the smell is still  pungent. Like chicken teriyaki or really salty french fries. I got it on my pants, my shirt, my arms, my hands, my chair, the floor, the desk, some papers, the phone, the computer mouse. And of course, the moment I spilled it, the phone started ringing off the hook and instant messages began popping up like popcorn on my computer screen. When it rains, it rains soy sauce.

And it’s raining. It’s been raining constantly for the last few days here in New York. And the few days before that weren’t stellar weather-wise either. Because it’s May I know that something’s gotta give at some point, I know the sunshine will come. But when? Please New York? When. I need your sunshine. I need to run errands without getting water spots on my glasses.

And I’m wearing my glasses. Because my contacts are driving my eyes crazy. They become foggy and blurry minutes after I put them in. A few drops of contact solution clears it right up, but then it’s back to blur-town almost immediately. It’s infuriating, so I can’t wear them anymore. I’m going to have to go to the eye doctor, find out what the hell, and get a new prescription. You know, with all my time and money. So in the meantime, I’m wearing glasses. I hate wearing glasses. I’ve been researching Lasik. It’s come down to lasers.

The data entry pile at the desk job today has tripled in size. And it’s a “rush” situation – I have to get it all in as soon as is humanly possible.

Faryn and I worked our butts off last weekend (and the weekend before) to get a couple big orders out the door for Fanny & Jane. It’s a very exciting time for us. It’s also incredibly exhausting. This weekend, I worked non-stop from Friday night to Sunday night, breaking only to perform a sketch comedy show, go for a jog, and sleep a little bit. Don’t get me wrong: It’s So. Wonderful. that we have orders to fill. I could not be happier to find myself in this spot. But there has to be a better way to automate ourselves, so to speak, so that we’re not losing our minds. We’re playing catch up right now and I’m feeling run by my business rather than the other way around. Kevin has some great ideas brewing about how we can best go about it all, but for now, we’re on the hamster wheel. Tonight will be another late night of baking. To complain about it seems completely ungrateful but the point I’m trying to make is that one can only endure so much before one is kicking back entire bottles of wine. I rarely drink at all and I had three glasses of wine on Sunday night once the baking was done. Three! I had a headache on Monday morning.

I’m exhausted. I’m overwhelmed. I’m rehearsing and performing with two different comedy groups on four different nights a week. I’m starting my own business. I have to exercise sometime or I will totally lose it. I work a full time job that doesn’t let me out until 7pm each night. My apartment is a mess. My kitchen is piled high with chocolate-covered cutting boards. My boyfriend did all of our laundry last night because he’s a dreamboat, even though he’s just as busy as I am. I need to go to the eye doctor and the dentist, I need to buy some fruit so that I’m eating something other than oatmeal all day long, I need to find an accountant, I need to find a 70s outfit to wear to a photo shoot on Sunday.

I smell like soy sauce.

Tomorrow will be better.

3 thoughts on “bad day

  1. was in the same boat as you and alexander! sometimes, i have days that are such typical, by the book bad days, that i find myself wondering whether the stars align in certain hours in ways that can only make everything go wrong. the other, after counting an objective 10 things that went horribly wrong in my day, i found myself despondently googling different variations on “bad day” in search of some answers.

  2. I’m catching up on my blogs after a few weeks of “Gah, really? Again with this?”

    Just wanted to say– what’s up with contacts? I’m having the same weird thing, but it’s only happening on the inner part of my left eye. Ridiculous. I just scheduled the eye appt for Saturday.

Leave a Reply

