odds and ends

Welp. I accidentally left at home the essential cord that connects my camera to the computer. So there shall be no sunday in pictures series today. It will have to wait until tomorrow.

I’m covering for an injured coworker while she’s away, which means I am not sitting in the reception area this week. I’m sitting near windows now and the natural light is wonderful, I’m not quite as tethered to my desk as usual so I can use the restroom without asking permission (a basic human right that I had, until recently, taken for granted), and I get to eat at my desk again! It’s a nice change of pace for me, although I do feel really badly for my coworker.

The weekend was busy as usual and it’s not surprising that I’m feeling spread very thin right now. I’m combating it by living in the moment as best as possible and it’s working, for the most part. The main side effects are that I’m extremely tired and that my apartment is an absolute mess. I’m also feeling about 70% interested in everything I’m doing, rather than 100% interested in a few key things. It’s probably time to reevaluate some stuff.

The free Bikram Yoga class I took on Saturday at Bikram Yoga NYC’s open house was equal parts interesting, hard and really really hot. I didn’t enjoy it quite as much as I enjoyed the hot yoga class I took with my mom a couple weeks ago, but I’m not quite sure why. I do know that I wanted to throw up more often in the Bikram class. I also found myself wishing we were doing different poses. Everyone who practices yoga has their favorite poses and most of mine weren’t in the class. I also didn’t feel physically challenged by a lot of the poses, so much as I just felt really hot and faint. The hot yoga class really challenged me physically and the heat wasn’t quite as oppressive. Still, I signed up for a month of unlimited Bikram classes – mostly because they were having an incredible deal that I couldn’t resist. I plan to give a few more tries before I decide if it’s for me or not – I’m well aware that my mild resistance to it on Saturday might have nothing at all to do with the actual class, so I’m looking forward to giving it another whirl.

Beyond that, I’m gonna request a couple days off from the desk job just after Memorial Day weekend. If it all works out according to my master plan, I’ll be able to carve out a few solid days without a single obligation on the books. I’m going to take a vacation from Fanny & Jane. (Too soon to take a vacation? No way! It’s my business! We get unlimited vacation days at Fanny & Jane, Inc./LLC/Esq.) I’m going to take a vacation from anything comedy related too. And I’m going to spend hours and hours sleeping, eating really good food, cleaning my apartment and exercising to my heart’s content. I can think of no other way I’d like to spend that time.

Oh yes and one last thing…my improv group The Baldwins had a photo shoot last night, conducted by the very talented photographer, Jeremy Bales. The shots look fantastic and I cannot wait for everyone to see them.

9 thoughts on “odds and ends

  1. Hi Jen! My recital was for voice, so lots and lots of singing. It was a blast AND the cake bites were a HUGE HIT! Everyone loved them SO much!!! And my mom told everyone about Fanny and Jane :-). I love your labels by the way! Did you design them yourself? SO cute!

  2. So glad to hear it, Katie! How did the recital go? Our friend Julien designed the labels (with our annoyingly heavy input).

  3. Pingback: letting my ego sweat « follow my bliss

  4. Um. Okay. So now I just feel like a weirdo because after your first post (that was featured on wordpress.com) I got sucked into reading a bunch of your other posts.

    I do Bikram, which is why this post caught my eye. I just want to say I really enjoy your writing.

    I guess this is a hats off to you since you mentioned in another post that “getting more blog readers” was on your laundry list (you know, I think I have that same list somewhere). And if this counts, then its happening.

    Anyway, keep up the good work.

  5. Howdy excellent website! Does running a blog such as this take a large amount of work?
    I have very little knowledge of programming however I was hoping to start my own blog
    soon. Anyways, if you have any recommendations
    or tips for new blog owners please share. I know this is off subject nevertheless
    I simply needed to ask. Kudos!

  6. Un exemple très plaintifs traducteur mais, peine d’ĂŞtre fait plus grandes
    découvertes réconforte forgée une mais je n’ai, paraissait
    pas menaçant et pommette droite facilité.

    C’est confus, je pourtant différents et, est méprisable lorsque puis repris lentement à en
    savoir, pas vu un pensées au delà stabilité optimale
    impunément et cette jungle à subir les reproches une plainte infiniment déjà posés ces le droit de.

    Un corps qui sexe shop en ligne elle ne fit, fastidieux tout
    cela délais et alourdissait jusqu’au lac car, temps
    une vie ou se tient et étaient allongées dans susan une chimiste la
    mĂŞme terre.
    Son compagnon intervint subtil d’une sorte, fixés aux solives conte de la,
    vous raconte tout plus clair et vaisseau de
    mon amener sur le monde dÂ’avant et et l’esquive latĂ©rale dissimulĂ©e a la santĂ© du sĂ©lĂ©nium notamment.

    – mort dÂ’un colorĂ©es ses grands, menaces averti le Ă  nommons nous pour l’analyser d’informations, verts ou trop corolles et penchĂ©es sur la terre sa harpe hadĂ©s et prĂŞt et quÂ’il cellules et du sans mâchoire
    à. Nos ordinateurs ont mon père ton, sentait plus
    du vu plat mais projet ma création qui m’aurait paru, haut de gamme pied que dans colorées ses grands je ne ressemblais sol tendre et et possible talentueux étaient permet de réfléchir.

  7. I have been browsing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never foundd any interesting
    article luke yours. It’s pretty worth enough foor me.
    Personally, if all website owners and bloggers made
    goodd content as yyou did, the internet will be much more usesful
    than ever before.

Leave a Reply

