pressure

Picture 164-1

I’ve come down with some kind of annoying cold, sinus infection or allergy problem. This is the third time I’ve developed the same affliction this summer. It’s not the end of the world, but it is pretty irritating. I had to cancel late night plans with good friends last night in favor of going to sleep early. And I’m not sure I’m going to be up for anything tonight either. I have an awful pressure headache and I’m in some kind of hazy congested daze. And when I feel this way, all I want to do is go with the feeling. I want to have a cocktail or eight and *really* give into the haze, help it along. But I won’t because that will just make my sickness feel worse in the morning. Oh, life and its decisions.

I did a long yoga session before bed last night, hoping it would help move things around a little. And it definitely made my body feel better, but it didn’t do much for my stuffy head. I did some more yoga again this morning and I feel limber and strong, but still packed to the gills with sinus trouble.

So I’ve decided to do something this afternoon that I’ve been wanting to do for ages. Acupuncture. I’m not sure if it’s gonna do much to clear up my sinuses (though I’ve heard miraculous stories), but I’ve been meaning to try it out for a while so I’m gonna give it a whirl. I’m also hoping to address a few other things that have been bothering me lately. My friend Blue, who is a big fan of the practice, recommended City Acupuncture of New York to me – she’s had only great things to say about it. I’m really looking forward to the experience.

It’s a Friday night and I’d love to go out for drinks with friends, or indulge in a decadant meal, or go for a long run, but I know what I need to do most tonight is take care of my body and rest. I’ve got a busy weekend ahead, including another all-day Harvard Sailing Team shoot on Sunday (We’re wrapping up our web-pilot filming!), so I want to be sure I’m ready for that. Rumor has it that we’re gonna start around 7am on Sunday morning – oof – so I plan to feel good by then and that’s all there is to it.

Leave a Reply

