daily dessert

Picture 392

I baked six cakes last night. I’m not going to say anything else about that.

I took a break between cakes two and three to eat a delicious omelet my boyfriend prepared for me. (Actually, I backseat drove the entire omelet-making process. It might have taken years off our relationship.) After I finished eating it, I remembered this sweet I’d grabbed at Starbucks earlier in the day.

I guess Starbucks is making a big push to change all their bakery and lunch stuff so that it’s more natural and doesn’t have high-fructose corn syrup, etc. etc. That old bandwagon. I was there yesterday afternoon getting an iced coffee (for some crazy high price that iced coffee shouldn’t cost) and I decided to give them more of my money and get one of these “marshmallow squares” (rice krispie treats). It was the lowest calorie item in their pastry display, at 210 calories, I believe? Somewhere around there. I ate half of it in the afternoon at work, and saved the other half for after dinner, when I split what was left with Kevin.

It was eh. Look, I’m no fan of high-fructose. I try to avoid it at all costs. But the bottom line is that a rice krispie treat probably needs a little HFC in it to make it taste like the original. Anything else is just weird, runny marshmallows mixed together with chemical-free cereal. And what’s the fun in that? Rarely, if ever, will you find me taking this stance. But there are some sacred things that just shouldn’t be messed with.

It made me crave a big pan of REAL rice krispie treats, you know the ones. Once, when I was a kid, my best friend Kathryn and I made a pan of rice krispie treats that we then covered in a layer of mint chocolate. They were borderline disgusting. But we ate them for days.

Picture 391

Picture 393

Leave a Reply

