daily dessert

Picture 475

This is the other cupcake I bought on Monday at the Buttercup Bakeshop. Red velvet. I devoured it after lunch yesterday, but daintily and with a fork.

Picture 479

The first bite I took left me worried. I wasn’t instantly over the moon about it like I’d hoped to be. Then I remembered that the cupcake had been sitting in a bag under my desk for a whole 24 hours. Cupcakes, unless packed up in airtight containers, tend to taste best when fresh. (Duh.) Because there’s such a small amount of cake involved, it’s easy for the cake part to dry out quickly. So I kept this handicap in mind as I took my second and third bites.

Then I fell in love.

The slight dryness of the day old cake was no longer my concern, because the flavor was so spot on. The frosting, which tasted like a mix between buttercream and cream cheese frostings (although I have no actual idea what I’m talking about here, so don’t call the feds if I’m wrong), was just heavenly. And those little red sprinkley bits on top? Yes! They gave each bite a nice textured crunch that I really enjoyed. The cake itself was a classic red velvet recipe – very…velvety. It tasted wonderfully old fashioned.

I won’t go so far as to say this is the best red velvet cupcake I’ve ever had. It certainly ranks right up there, though. I hate to waffle on issues like these, but I think it’s next to impossible to pick The Best cupcake of all time. Mostly because it feels discriminatory. There are so many good ones! And what would be the criteria? Doesn’t it just come down to personal preference?

It seems, though, that there are those who’d disagree with me. So if you’re looking for declarations on the Best Cupcakes in New York, Grace, from gracenotesnyc recently held a Cupcake Cage-match (whoa!) where she used hungry judges to determine the city’s best cupcakes. It turns out – and I swear, I had no idea about this until just this morning – that Buttercup Bakeshop won! Impressive. They really do have incredible cupcakes. Just because I won’t go so far as to say they’re the very best ever, doesn’t mean you shouldn’t listen to someone else who says so.

Come to think of it, I’ve loved everything I’ve ever tasted from Buttercup. God, I love a great bakery.

Picture 476

Leave a Reply

