daily dessert

I’ve begun to scale back a bit on the daily dessert feature lately by only blogging about the noteworthy desserts. Cuz who really needs to see the two squares of chocolate I ate for dessert last Tuesday, ya know?

I’ve gratefully enjoyed two noteworthy desserts in the last few days, both thanks to birthdays. Anyone else notice there are a ton of birthdays in October? Lovely month to have a birthday, I’d say. Mine’s in early November, so I can relate.

Kevin’s dad, Marty, turned another year older on Tuesday (as did my mom!!), and Kev and I went to visit the family over the weekend to celebrate. We ate a big, delicious BBQ dinner, and finished it off with peach plum pie, leftover chocolate cake, fresh fruit and a few shortbread cookies (Fanny & Jane leftovers).

Picture 001

I didn’t have any of the pie, but everyone (except 3-year-old Craig) seemed to really enjoy it. Nor did I have any of the cookies, having eaten more than my fair share of the shortbread thumbprints – and their batter – when I baked them.

I did, however, enjoy the hell out of some chocolate cake.

Picture 004

Too close?

This was delicious cake – very moist and flavorful with plenty of icing on top and throughout. It was from a popular bakery in Nanuet, NY called Carousel Cakes and it was very good.

My plate:

Picture 006

Oh and, uh, I had several additional bites of the cake.

Then! As if this birthday madness weren’t enough, two women in my office both turned 40 this week. So we had – what else – more cake.

It wasn’t a problem for me. I love cake.

And believe it or not, I saved up my calories on each of the cake days so that I could indulge guilt-free. I refuse to skip cake. And I refuse to gain weight from cake. It’s a simple policy, really.

Picture 007

The cake we had at the office was from Crumbs. And frankly, I was completely underwhelmed by it. It wasn’t bad, by any means, and it was, after all, still birthday cake. But it wasn’t amazing either. For such a popular bakery like Crumbs, I was expecting more from this cake, but it was pretty sub par. Maybe I’m a sweets snob. I had this problem the last time I sampled some Crumbs Cake – I didn’t care that much for it and I was disappointed over the whole mess.

You’ll say, It’s just cake, Jen!

It’s never just cake.

I had a thin but filling piece of this less-than cake. Somehow, I managed to choke it down. (Read: I gobbled it right up.)

Picture 009

Picture 008

Happy birthday to all the October babies! And thank you for sharing your birthday cake with me.

One thought on “daily dessert

  1. Pingback: daily dessert « follow my bliss

Leave a Reply

