some immediate pros and cons of quitting my job

IMG_1651

Three more days! Today, tomorrow and the next day. That’s IT.

I’m not walking around with some false assumption that quitting my desk job is going to improve my life in all the ways I’ve ever hoped my life would improve. At least I’m not saying so out loud.

Truthfully, though, I don’t believe it’s going to cure everything that’s ever ailed me. I don’t believe that because I don’t believe any unhappiness or discomfort in my life is only the result of this job. We make our own happiness – through our attitude, the way we treat people, how we choose to spend our time and perceive our surroundings. I truly believe that.

It’s funny – it took my embarking on this very journey in order to realize that quitting my job wouldn’t solve all my problems. And that’s when I glanced around and discovered, I don’t have that many problems to begin with. I’m blessed. And then quitting my desk job became part of choosing to accept and believe how blessed I really am – so blessed that I don’t have to work somewhere I don’t want to work. That’s my right. And I’m lucky to have that right.

All that said, as I’m no longer counting down the days, but counting down the hours (!!!), I can already imagine a few immediate pros and cons, mostly silly stuff, that I’ll encounter. Things that I might think of come Monday morning when I’m not on my way to an office job.

PROS

I don’t have to answer any phones. Ever. Never again, if that’s how I feel.

I don’t have to say “Company Name!” in a cheery voice, if and when I do answer the phone.

I will be free to get up from my desk WHENEVER I WANT TO. No more asking to go to the bathroom for this former-receptionist! (This alone was reason enough to quit my job.)

I will be a former receptionist.

I can eat my meals at hours that are more suitable to my body’s needs.

I can exercise! Whenever! I want to! Oh God! This is huge.

NO. MORE. DATA. ENTRY.

I won’t have to argue with any more clients about whether or not their attorney is really on a conference call or if that’s just something I made up to ruin their lives.

I will see daylight during the daytime.

I won’t have to fill out expense reports for someone who spent more money on one measly lunch than I spent during the entire month of September.

CONS

I won’t get to regularly visit my morning coffee cart guys any more! Aww, I love those guys.

I will miss bantering with my boss, who’s actually a very nice guy.

I won’t have access to all the free photocopying I can fit in a pickup truck.

I can’t believe I’m saying this, but I might actually miss the energy of midtown Manhattan.

I won’t get free lunch on the last Friday of every month. Unless Kevin buys it for me. He might. I’ll ask him.

I’ll miss the satisfaction of labeling a file folder or filling out a form with nice handwriting, using a pen I enjoy. Although, I can still do this from home. Maybe Kevin needs some files reorganized. He might. I’ll ask him.

I might even miss my daily morning subway commute, which is always filled with characters and is often a relaxing way to spend an hour of my day, believe it or not.

I’ll be sharing an at-home work space with my beloved boyfriend. Hm. Maybe he’d like to rent out a separate office for himself. He might. I’ll ask him.

You might also like these related posts:

i quit my job today

the day i decided to quit my job

my interview with kath younger (of Kath Eats Real Food): the story of a young woman who quit her job and ended up somewhere she never expected

10 ways to save for a desk job escape

i want to simplify

daydream job

53 thoughts on “some immediate pros and cons of quitting my job

  1. “I won’t have to argue with any more clients about whether or not their attorney is really on a conference call or if that’s just something I made up to ruin their lives.”

    YES. What IS that? Or or or…accusing you of not giving messages b/c they haven’t heard back…or wanting to know where they are at that exact moment and when they’ll be back as if attorneys give you an itinerary of where they will be every minute of the day.

    Jen, I am so jealous. Law firms suck your will to live.

    • Ha, Stace, I know exactly what you mean. “Where is he?” Umm, I don’t know. I’m not his mom. “When will be back?” I haven’t the foggiest. It’s understandable, I guess. But it’s also pretty irritating.

  2. Congratulations and good luck! I’ve been reading through a couple of your posts after this one caught my eye. I enjoy your perspective of life and the little humors you add into your posts. Your decision to leave your job and commitment to healthy (and happier–can’t forget those desserts either) living.

    I have my first full-time job that I started about a month or two ago. I’ve only done part time jobs and freelance art the past few years so it’s a big change for me. I like to complain about long hours and all that, but I know it’s a good job and a lot more relaxed and easy going than other places I could be. I found that no matter how annoyed I can be about jobs, there’s always something I’ll miss about them. At Busch Gardens theme park I loved meeting people from all over, getting to draw, working with other cool artists, getting into the park free… as much as I loathed working outside in heat or rain, not being “legal” to sit down unless drawing, bad pay, and long commute. Sometimes you just have to put things in perspective and see and appreciate your life as it is and where you can take it.

    • Hi Star – Yeah I totally agree with you. This job is not right for me RIGHT NOW. But there was a time when I was more than happy to have it. And I think that both are completely reasonable things to feel. We change throughout our lives. So it’s only natural that how we feel about our careers and our life’s direction will change too. And to be honest, I can imagine missing this place, definitely. That’s a little scary to think that I’ll one day be nostalgic for something I’ve been dying to escape from for so long. But such is being human. Thanks for your thoughtful comment!

  3. We will figure out that distance from You to Me in Brooklyn, & when I leave my job, we will arrange to meet for lunch the last Fri of every month. It won’t be free, but it will be something to look forward to. Well, we could dine & dash….

    We can start before then if you REALLY miss midtown Manhattan – I’m near Grand Central!

  4. I’ll have to read through your blog to see why you quit your job. I can’t WAIT till I can quit mine!! I love being a receptionist, it’s so easy, but it’s not MY business and really, I’m making other people rich by working here.

    I own my own Arbonne business and it’s quickly coming to the day that I can start working from home and working for myself. No more early mornings, no more rushing out the door, no more stupid drama, no more unwanted hours.

    Yay!!

    • Hi kittyjane – Yeah that’s actually WHY I quit. It’s not my business, and I’m only making other people rich by working here. It’s a super easy job, and sometimes even fun. There are definitely downsides, but I could think of a million and one more miserable places to work. That said, as I’m about to turn 29, I just want more for myself. I don’t want to settle for this anymore.

      Congrats on your own business!!! That’s great. The day that you can work for yourself will be a welcome one, I’m sure. Good luck.

      • I feel the exact way! I’m 26 and working at a totally dead-end job…I’m JUST a receptionist! It makes total sense to me to look for other options, more long term work, more of a CAREER. But even though this makes so much sense to me, my co-workers can’t imagine why I wouldn’t be fully satisfied at my job. That, to me, is the strange thing! Not the fact that I’m looking for something more satisfying!

  5. Hi – as someone who recently quit their job and moved to the other side of the world with no new job lined up, I can say it’s been an experience. There’s uncertainty and unexpected joys and I haven’t figured it all out yet but I do know that staying where I was working was never going to be the answer.

    Good Luck!

  6. This is just GREAT! Front page!!!!

    This really kills me:
    “I won’t have to fill out expense reports for someone who spent more money on one measly lunch than I spent during the entire month of September.”

    Reason enough.

  7. Kudos to you and everyone who has followed their professional heart. I, too, am counting down to my last day (12 days, 2 hours) to pursue something completely unknown in another city. It’s comforting to see that I am not alone or completely crazy.

  8. WONDERFUL! I did the same thing over two years ago, enrolled in college full-time, shipped my daughter off to college, and I am about 18 credits shy of being a teacher. Something I always wanted to do and never thought I had the time, motivation, or money. Over the last two years I have worked a wide variety of temporary jobs when I needed money. Now I’m working part time at a major research university reading the news!!! No kidding I read the news for a pay check and study full-time. Go – explore – ignite your passions – fulfill your dreams. It is so worth it.

  9. Good luck! I’ve been jobless since Feb 08. It’s nice, I just need to learn to follow my bliss while I”m at it! Cheers!

  10. I just finished this post, and the one about the day you decided to quit your job. I really like the way you chose to move forward in the face of uncertainty.

    You are an amazing writer and your posts are fun to read. I’m glad you made the front page of wordpress today, or I might not have ever stumbled onto your work.

    Good luck with your journey and I lood forward to reading more.

  11. Thank you for all the kind, supportive comments! I cannot tell you what a wonderful thing it is to know that other people have been in my same situation and have found happiness my changing things around for themselves!! Congrats to all of you! (And to me. πŸ™‚ )

  12. I am so glad I read your blog, you are an awesome writer! You inspire me!

    I will be quitting my job in Feb to go travelling. I hope you will continue to write in your blog. I look forward to reading more.

    Good luck with your adventure, very best of wishes

    • Hi Becky – Good luck with YOUR adventure. I would love to go travel. And maybe someday I will! I will definitely continue writing, so check back. And best of luck to you on your journey. Keep me posted!

  13. I think at some point of our lifes, we ALL WANNA QUIT.. specially working.. but in order to survive this mercenary world we need to work..
    so good luck to you!

  14. I won’t get to regularly visit my morning coffee cart guys any more! Aww, I love those guys.
    I liked that. πŸ™‚

    Good luck in your next new venture whatever that is. I liked this post. Thanks for it.

  15. hey jen! not sure if you remember me but I found this post through the wordpress site and was shocked when it was you! congratulations on moving to do what you want, excellent writing and good luck with everything that is NOT a desk job!

  16. Its worth it! I quit my well-paying job 7 months back…every unfolding moment has been such a facinating one, peeling off my old “self” and revealing my new ME….Be wary of the voices in your head, whispering, doubts and fears about your decision..its during this time, you will have to be strong and continue FOLLOWING YOUR BLISS!!! πŸ™‚

  17. Cute article Jen,

    I’ve just finished up at my second job for the year (first was due to a very welcome and voluntary redundancy, second was because the company was a complete mess..truly)

    It’s so refreshing to be free of something you longer find fulfiling. Welcome to the other side!

  18. Go girl! Quiiting my job was one of the most liberating acts I have ever done! Working for myself and being my own boss is just brilliant. Lots of worries to..but the pro’s outway the cons…

    And for a free lunch on the last Friday of the month? Tell, don’t ask, your man to take you out for lunch on every last Friday of the month..

  19. Bravo on your decision to leave your job, sounds like it has been a well planned out ordeal for you. Although I have found that being at home has some perks, after being without work for almost 2 months now, I sure do miss it. Just my thoughts, take care.

  20. Pingback: daily dessert « follow my bliss

Leave a Reply

