two days or 18 working hours to go

Picture 096

First of all, guess what I’m doing tonight!?

I’m going to the Monty Python Reunion at the Ziegfeld Theatre! There will be a screening of their brand new documentary, Monty Python: Almost The Truth (The Lawyer’s Cut), and then there will be a panel discussion with the actual guys from Monty Python.

Check back tomorrow for pictures!

A huge thank you goes to my good friend, Matt Love, who had an extra ticket (probably because he’s “press” – what a fancy guy) and he asked me to join him! I’m excited. Whee!

Anyway, the subway on the way in to work this morning was uncharacteristically packed, but I didn’t mind. As my time at the desk job winds through these last few hours, I’m feeling happy and peaceful. Sure, anxieties crop up from time to time, but that’s natural. I’m choosing to focus not on what might go wrong, but on what’s possible.

The last several days have been some of the most interesting I’ve had in recent memory. I’ve been receiving emails and comments from people across the world, congratulating me on this decision, sharing with me their similar experiences, asking me for my advice (yikes! my advice?!) on what they should do to improve their situation.

I cannot thank you all enough for your support, your insights, and your kind words. And to all the new readers of follow my bliss, welcome! I’m so excited to share this journey with all of you. Although I’ve been writing about this quest of mine for the last ten months, in many ways, the journey starts tomorrow!

I’m eager to share how this all works out for me, and hopefully, to continue to inspire other people to seek out what makes them happiest. Life’s too short to do anything else.

Of course, you can go read some of those great comments yourself, but I wanted to highlight a few of them here so you can see the kind of awesome stuff I’ve gotten to read in the last few days (Scroll through the actual comments if you want to know who wrote these.):

“I recently quit too. More power to you. And enjoy the freedom.”

“Life is too short to be doing a job you get little or no pleasure from.”

“It’s so refreshing to be free of something you longer find fulfilling. Welcome to the other side!”

“There’s uncertainty and unexpected joys and I haven’t figured it all out yet but I do know that staying where I was working was never going to be the answer.”

“It’s comforting to see that I am not alone or completely crazy.”

“I was recently liberated from a job that I truly hated. There’s no excuse for putting up with a situation that doesn’t feed your soul.”

“But even though this makes so much sense to me, my co-workers can’t imagine why I wouldn’t be fully satisfied at my job. That, to me, is the strange thing! Not the fact that I’m looking for something more satisfying!”

“I can’t WAIT till I can quit mine!!”

“Now I’m working part time at a major research university reading the news!!! No kidding I read the news for a pay check and study full-time. Go – explore – ignite your passions – fulfill your dreams. It is so worth it.”

“I will be quitting my job in Feb to go traveling.”

“Quitting my job was one of the most liberating acts I have ever done!”

“So many people end up stuck in a job that they just drift into and don’t enjoy going to. I mean, this is LIFE! We should be loving every day of it.”

I have loved hearing from all of you. Thank you. And I hope that we can all continue to draw inspiration from each other. It is nothing short of thrilling to me that so many people can relate to this experience, and that so many people really, truly believe that we all deserve to discover careers and live lives that fulfill us. It’s a good thing.

2 thoughts on “two days or 18 working hours to go

  1. So happy for you. . . there’s no better feeling than finding a way to make a living doing what you love & would choose to do even if you didn’t need to earn a paycheck.

    For me it is teaching private violin lessons. I wake up in the morning looking forward to my day and have the mental energy and space to be creative. I feel like I am really living life on my terms and doing what I love.

    I’m looking forward to reading about the next chapter in your journey 🙂

Leave a Reply

