my birthday is tomorrow!!

Jen 1512

I turn 29 tomorrow. How exciting. I feel like a real adult.

I just tried to write a blog entry about my day yesterday – a trip to the grocery store, a new dinner making experience, and an awesome new gift from my honey! – but my computer effed everything up and I’m about to lose my cool.

So in the interest of maintaining my sanity, and so that I can go for a walk and get some baking done, instead of staring at this computer screen all afternoon, I’m going to post photos of yesterday and be done with it.

Jen 1481

Jen 1573

Jen 1571

Jen 1523

Jen 1524

Jen 1530

Jen 1529

I used this How To Cook Spaghetti Squash guide, and this brown sugar-glazed carrots recipe. Both dishes turned out pretty good – although I’m not sure I baked the squash for long enough. Still, a yummy, filling supper.

Jen 1514

Jen 1516

Jen 1517

Kev got home from his overnight business trip to Miami carrying this huge box!! I let myself pretend it was a puppy for a few minutes. Then I unwrapped the very next best thing: a new, fancy standing mixeraaaAAAAAAHHHH! YES. This is going to change my life.

Jen 1575

It’s a really nice one too. He did his research.

Jen 1532

Jen 1560

I stayed up late making two red velvet cakes, which were much more enjoyable to make with my new mixer. And Kevin crashed into bed, exhausted from his whirlwind trip, and hoping to get some sleep in preparation for the TWENTY-FOUR HOURS OF IMPROV he’s about to do.

That’s right. He and his improv team, Tomahawk, are hosting a 24-hour improv festival that begins tonight and ends tomorrow at 8pm. I’m hoping to catch a show late tonight, and then maybe something tomorrow afternoon after they’ve all been awake for almost 36 hours and are probably going to be sub-humans. How could I miss out on that? As I said in an email to my good friend Keith, who is a member of Tomahawk, coming to see them in the last leg of this insanity will be Schadenfreude at its finest.

Jen 1564

Jen 1566

I came to bed late last night, around 3am, which has become my usual bedtime recently. Who knows. Maybe it’s a phase, maybe I’m my grandmother’s granddaughter. But that’s where my body clock is resting right now. And who am I to argue.

When I tried to climb into bed, though, I discovered there was no room!

Jen 1568

The rest of the family had taken over.

Now if we could just add a dog to this bed.

11 thoughts on “my birthday is tomorrow!!

  1. Happy happy happiest of birthdays to you, my awesome sweet inspirational friend… I am so glad to know you!

    Parting thoughts:
    1) holycrap, your cats are BIG
    2) seeing Kev in your bed made me really miss Mike
    3) what a GREAT birthday gift!
    4) bought some red velvet cake bites today. At Costco. Not that good. Pretended they were yours, in honor of your birthday.

    Have a GREAT weekend!!!

  2. Happy Birthday Wishes to you!Your photos are amazing…makes me want to stop using my iPhone for my blog, LOL. I love your mixer and I’m so excited for your 29th year – lots of good things coming your way lady! You continue to inspire and amaze me, can’t wait to see things unfold. Huge hugs to you my dear!

  3. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! I hope you have a great day and get lots of great presents ๐Ÿ™‚

    Your kitties are so cute, did you have to give them a nudge to make room for you? I always felt so guilty for having to do that when my parent’s cat used to sleep on my bed. After a while, she’d wait til I was in the bed and then park herself right between my legs or on top of my stomach or something!!

    Em xoxo

Leave a Reply

