resolution #1

I’ve made a few resolutions. Do you make resolutions? I guess I always do. I find it’s important to choose a few attainable goals. And then celebrate when you achieve them!

I have four resolutions this year. The one I’m going to write about today is that I resolve to take loving care of myself.

When Kevin and I were visiting the midwest, we bought so much stuff! We went shopping several times and got new shoes, bags, coats, clothes, books – we got stuff on sale! It was great. I don’t like to focus on material things, I recognize the temporary cheer they cause and I recognize that that eventually goes away, because that’s not the stuff that really matters anyway.

But it sure is fun for a few days, right? To have new bracelets or new shoes. I’m wearing new clothes and have been since Christmastime, and it’s lovely. I got a sweet new purse that I’m crazy about. And I’m going to soak up the couple weeks I get to really enjoy that purchase before I grow bored of it because purses don’t matter anyway.

One of the ways I took care of myself over the holiday break was by buying myself some new essentials. I also took care of myself by exercising occasionally (not as much as I wanted to, but I’ll come back to that in a moment…), by eating three squares a day, something I hadn’t done at all in the few weeks before vacation began. I slept a solid 8 hours a night, I had valuable conversations with my favorite family members and caught up with a bunch of old friends. I took care of myself.

In 2010, I resolve to continue to do that in all the areas of my life. I want to keep active and healthy, by moving a little every day and eating meals that aim to be kind to my body and kind to the environment. I want to sleep well and enough. I want to trust my instincts, not second guess myself too often, and have faith in myself. I want to get my focus off the details and let things unfold as they will. I want to take care of myself. I think it’s important.

Part of that concept, for me, includes limiting some of the negative chatter my brain feeds me all the time. You know the voice, the one that caused me to write above, “…not as much as I wanted to,” about how much I exercised over the break. What the hell is that about? I could’ve not worked out at all. But I did.

And I could have eaten much, MUCH more food than I did. As it was, I indulged at times and didn’t plenty of times too. But still, I gave myself a finger wag about how much I was eating time and again. WHY?! We do we do that? It’s nuts. It’s just not worth it.

I’m human. I will overeat and oversleep and be alive. And I will also sometimes skip meals and not rest enough and try to do it all. So as I work to find balance, I’m also going to work to shut up that nasty voice in my head that literally wants to criticize my every move. Because all that does it cause extra work for me.

I’d like to encourage all of us to stop the self-criticism. It’s good to be self-aware, but there’s no need to get all over your own case about the whole adventure. Take loving care of yourself! If you won’t, who will?

2 thoughts on “resolution #1

  1. Pingback: back to work! « follow my bliss

Leave a Reply

