one year

It was surprisingly warm out for December and I felt so incredibly alive as I ran. I thought about my desk job and why I don’t like it, why I feel trapped there, why I undergo such a spiritual shift every Monday morning between 9 and 10 am. As I ran I thought, I don’t care what else I do. I just can’t sit at that desk anymore.

from the first entry of follow my bliss – 1-5-09

Today is my blog’s one-year anniversary! Happy anniversary, blog.

Writing follow my bliss over the last twelve months has been a truly wonderful and life-affirming experience. I love to write and having an outlet to do so, having an opportunity to write something almost every day, has been a blessing.

I have also made great friendships that I would not have made without this blog. My friend Elizabeth Blue comes to mind because she was one of the first people ever to reach out to me about follow my bliss, to tell me that she was inspired by my story and that she was undergoing similar shifts in her own life. She started a blog of her own, we’ve become dear friends, and I am so proud of her for the lovely place she’s at in her life right now.

Writing this blog has allowed me to talk to people around the world who share my experience, who do not feel fulfilled by their jobs. Hundreds of thousands of people google the phrase “I want to quit my job” each day. I’m sure it’s nothing new in the world that people have jobs they don’t like and want jobs they don’t have but, still, we are lucky to be able to reach out to each other to affirm that we aren’t alone.

It’s very easy to walk around a job you hate like a zombie, telling yourself that you have to stay there, that your circumstances are different, that you don’t have a choice. And maybe you don’t. Only you really know that.

But I believe that everyone has some kind of a choice – about their whole lives really. And I say, if you don’t like your job don’t stay there. Make a plan and execute that plan. Start a new career, do something you’ve always dreamed of doing, go back to school, make a change. It’s up to you.

Life is too short.

10 thoughts on “one year

  1. Congrats on your blogiversary and on making you escape. I know that I want to get out from behind my desk and have the shackle (office telephone) removed, now I just have to come up with a game plan. Thanks for sharing your experience with us.

  2. Congratulations on your “blogiversary” and for following your bliss this past year. (I’ve been reading your blog for awhile but I don’t think I’ve ever commented.) Your blog is so inspirational and I hope that someday I can make a living without working a typical 9-5 (9 to 6 in my case) desk job! (Since I graduated from college less than a year ago, I’m willing to bide my time…)

    Thanks for writing!

  3. Congratulations on the big anniversary. That is quite the accomplishment and I am inspired that you left your desk job behind. That’s the thing that, for me, resonated and made me so interested in what you have to say. You see, I hate my job. The idea of leaving it behind is the only thing that moves me these days. It’s pretty much my one and only resolution. So I pay attention to what you have to say. 🙂

  4. Congratulations on all you’ve accomplished this year! Following your story is fun and inspiring. I am one of those you’d call “stuck in a rut” at my desk job, but luckily there is light at the end of the tunnel and my next job will be something I love and am proud to be doing. Thanks for reminding us that we have a choice and that what makes us happy is attainable.

  5. Happy blogiversary, Jen! Your blog is a daily stop for me, and is always inspirational, honest, and entertaining. It’s because of your blog that I butted my nose into your business in the first place, and then…Fanny & Jane was born!

    Very happy you’re happy.

    You’re inspiring me to dust the cobwebs off my own blog now. 🙂

  6. Thanks for all your kind words, everyone!! I really appreciate it. It feels like a lovely accomplishment to have kept this badboy up for a year and I’m so blessed that you’ve all chosen to join me on the journey. Love. Excited to see what 2010 has in store for all of us!

  7. I am a reader of your blog and have never posted before today. I think that I found you from a comment on Oh She Glows – as I recall you were mere days away from your last day at the desk job. I check back periodically to read about your success and found it very cool that today is your bog anniversary. I just wanted to say congratulations on your life. I am inspired by your story of deciding to actually DECIDE what you want and to ACTUALLY follow through and do it. I hope that someday I will do the same! Congrats!

  8. hi hon. figured now was as good a time as any for me to ever comment here. 😉 you know how much you inspire me on a daily basis, but this thing really blows my mind. your yearlong hero’s journey has inspired so many other human beings to reconnect with..being…human. i love you and am loving your bliss.

Leave a Reply

