not enough time

I cannot tell you how much it irks me that the phrase “there’s not enough time in the day” still has an opportunity to rattle around in my brain now that it’s been over six months since I quit my desk job and took my days back. I quit my full-time, for-someone-else’s-dream, one-hour-commute-both-ways job so that I’d have those days to myself. I wanted more time to focus on my own stuff, more time to grow and shape my own goals.

And yes, I absolutely do have more time to do that stuff now. My days are busy – sure – but they are busy with things that are all for my future and toward my goals. Hooray! It worked!

I’m just always baffled when an entire day still passes by in a seeming blink of an eye and I only got one third of my To Do list accomplished, despite having been going non-stop since I woke up. Maybe I need to make shorter To Do lists. Or maybe I just need to trust that things will get done when they will and get off my back, Brain.

The point of this rant is here: If you ever quit your full-time job, the one where you work for someone else doing stuff that doesn’t make you happy, and you are thrilled to be walking into the sunrise of your new life, daydreaming of the days to come, days that will include luxurious jogs through the park, long hours spent with your notebook and pen, planning your new business, new career or new project, days where you’ll lose yourself in thought and you’ll meet friends for lunch and you’ll find yourself happier than ever, as the captain of your own ship, director of your own musical comedy, don’t assume that you’ll have time to do all that fun stuff AND clean your house, buy cat food, shop for new running shoes, renew your passport and organize your file cabinet. Because you won’t. And then you might get all grouchy about it. Because you are still an American human person who thinks she has to pack a whole lotta whatever-the-heck into one measly day in order to feel like she’s getting anything done.

I am, at least.

I’m going to work on correcting this melodrama.

7 thoughts on “not enough time

  1. I couldn’t have written this post better myself. I am definitely affected by this exact same concept all the time. It then makes me wonder how I functioned when I did have that full time, commute an hour each way job?!

    Have a good day, looks like it’ll be a sunny one in NYC.

    happiness awaits

  2. I always say that. If I only had 6 more hours in the day. I think that I still would find stuff to bog down that time if I had it though!

  3. I hear you completely. I have a 9 to 5 job, but I often feel that the day goes by even faster when I have a full weekend day to work on my passion projects. I console myself with this theory: In my opinion, the closer you get to doing what you love, the more you need to invest in it. The people who are really passionate and doing their “thing” are also really, really busy. And for me personally, when I was totally unhappy with my job and also my life, I didn’t feel I had enough to do. A long to do list is, in my opinion, a sign that you’re growing and thriving.

    On that note, managing the to do list is also important. Have you read Getting Things Done? It’s incredibly useful, and I think you could probably pick it up at the library.

  4. Yes, yes & yes! I’m only on Day 4 in Self-Employment Land & I keep wondering where the hell the week has gone. I blink & it’s 11a. I blink again & it’s 3p. WTF? It must be because I’m doing stuff for ME, stuff I love & love doing (mostly), & the 10 hours that used to last 22 now lasts 5.

    It could be worse, though 🙂

  5. I like to say that having more things to do than you have time is the sign of a healthy imagination 🙂 After all, it’d be way worse to have the time but no desires to fill it with. I hope I die with a long list of things I wanted to do but never had time for, yet many wonderful things I *have* done. I figure that if I completed all my ideas I’d have spent my life thinking too small.

    That said, I totally sympathize! It’s frustrating to feel like you don’t have enough time.

    • You know, I love that perspective, Thekla. I never thought of it that way – it WOULD be awful to have all the time in the world and nothing to fill it with. Thank you for reminding me of that. 😉

  6. I agree. The shorter my to-do list is, the less smart I feel… although I’m one of those who welcomed the semi-vacation.

Leave a Reply

