my best laid plans and their untimely demise

On Tuesday morning after the holiday weekend, I had big plans. It was June 1, and like I do with every first of every month, I decided it was the perfect time to start anew.

We cleaned our apartment over the weekend. I reorganized my desk. I made myself a schedule of my obligations for the upcoming week. I felt prepared, confident, happy and well-rested. I went to bed early on Monday night in preparation for my Major Life Overhaul on Tuesday morning.

Now, I have professed before to believe that Major Life Overhauls are never good things. Making changes happens step by step. Not in a weekend or after one snaps their fingers. I have lived this. I know it to be true. Still, my guard was down. The holiday weekend’s indulgence combined with an incredibly busy summer ahead tricked me into thinking I could revamp my whole manner of existing overnight. And that it would be marvelously productive.

So on the morning of the big day, Tuesday, June 1, I got right down to it. Except, aside from trying to stick to my plan, I found myself spending a lot of time keeping a mental checklist of what was and wasn’t working…which…wasn’t working. Updating a mental checklist all day long doesn’t make you more productive, ya know? But I soldiered on.

DID
Get up early
Do morning chores
Eat a healthy, filling breakfast
Start working at 10am on the nose
Write a lot all day long
Take a long walk
Have a productive HST business meeting

DID NOT
Do any yoga
Do any bakery work
Complete my To Do List

And this ran through my mind all day long to the point of near-madness. Interestingly, there’s a lot more on the DID list, but I was more focused on the DID NOTS. Because that’s what I do.

All in all, it was a bizarre experiment. Even so, I still naively assumed the changes I put in place on Tuesday, June 1 would stick. That evening, I made my lists for the next day, planned to wake up early – breakfast, chores, work as scheduled. I got into bed at a reasonable time.

…and then I didn’t fall asleep until 3:52am.

Because my body and brain were like “HELL NO, B!T@H. Bemusing attempt, though.”

So much for my brilliant, effective, efficient, responsible, productive, life-altering plan.

This morning, I woke up at a time more normal for my body (based on its habits of the last eight months). I didn’t do any morning chores, I ate breakfast while I sat at my computer, I did work as it came and I still don’t know if I’ll have a chance to workout today or not.

My best laid plans met their untimely demise this morning.

Oh well.

Leave a Reply

