waving hello

Oh hi guys!

So, it’s been a while, I know. Let’s not deny it. I’ve owed this blog a post for quite some time.

Where have I been? I’ve been busy, I guess. Every time I sit down to write a post, that’s all it ends up being about. How I’m busy. That’s no fun, right?

I’m not really sure what else to tell you. It’s interesting how much I once had the drive to write about everything I was thinking and feeling, and how I just don’t feel the pull to do that so much anymore.

I guess I express myself in other ways lately – on stage, in the classroom, on twitter. Work at the PIT is busy and fun and has its ups and downs, but it’s a great place for me to be in my life right now. We were voted Best Comedy Venue in New York City in the Village Voice this year and we keep growing and growing. It’s super exciting. I also get along with my coworkers, who make me laugh, so that doesn’t hurt.

Overall this last year of my life has been about diving head first into the comedy scene in a way I never had before. I took a stand-up class, put up my own variety show, I’ve been working on webseries scripts and other ideas and teaching more and more classes and doing more and more shows and I’ve been generally focused on that world.

When I started this blog, I was “stuck” in a desk job that I didn’t love. A lot’s changed for me personally in the years since I began writing here. I quit that desk job. I started a bakery. I did my best to run the bakery. I didn’t like it. I stopped doing it. I thought I might do it again, but I now know won’t. I didn’t like it and that’s the bottom line. I felt myself drawn more to comedy and performing than I ever had been. And here I am now. That’s what this whole journey was about, right? Finding what I truly loved to do.

Maybe where I’ve ended up will change someday. Maybe I’ll be a psychologist or an FBI agent 15 years from now. Probably not. But I’m just about to turn 31, I have plenty of time to find out. For now, I’m practicing enjoying the process.

Thanks for joining me on this journey over the last almost-three years. Writing here was an inspiration to me, connecting with all of you was a support to me, and communicating with you helped me to grow and analyze myself as I went along. Now I’m trying to focus less on analyzing myself and more on living in the moment and enjoying my life.

I might write here regularly again someday, I might not. In the meantime, I’m on Twitter and Facebook. Connect with me there! Or you can email me at jenifercurran@gmail.com. See you around. 🙂

Posted in Uncategorized

One thought on “waving hello

Leave a Reply

